Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "I'm a Contractor"..No, You're a HACK!

I go to a 'no heat' call last week. The guy says "I'm a contractor" fixing the place up so the tenants can move in tommorrow. This is what I find when he shows me the thermostat:Somehow he managed to wired these two thermostats together.

He said he already 'checked' the chimney and it was all clear. This is what I find when I look inside: Completly stopped up. I pulled out a 5 gallon bucket full of soot, 3 dead birds and what looked like maybe a squirrel carcass

After I get the heat on he wants me to fix a leak on a pipe he extended: He used and old piece of black gas pipe he found with a shop coupling on a cold water riser. I gave him points for being resourceful

And I saved the best for last: I wouldn't have believed it if I wasn't standing there staring at it. He bullheaded the dryer vent to the water heater flue. When I called him on it he said "it's ok I've done it in alot of houses I've fixed up"

I turned his a$$ in...3 hours later a stop work order was in the window

I hate to be a taddle tail but people like this need to be stopped before someone gets hurt

Last edited by plumberscrack; 06-15-2008, 11:37 AM.

Re: "I'm a Contractor"..No, You're a HACK!

My motto is "snitches get stitches" but you're 100% right. This hack has endangered lives by his work and doesn't deserve to be in our trade.
    Buy cheap, buy twice.

Comment

I understand a DIY makeing a mistake..hay no big thing..but a "contractor"...no excuse!!!! Especialy risking peoples lives to save a buck.

Comment

Let me guess he was the electrical contractor too. Glad you turned him in

Comment

you did good crack

hope this teaches him a lesson and he either learns or leaves.

keep it up and mark your truck with a kill

rick.
          phoebe it is

Comment