X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Radiant Help Needed?

First let me start out by saying I'm a Cabinetmaker by trade. My father is a commercial plumber in NYC. So we have done ZERO radiant. My first floor has a very open floor plan you can see from one end of the house to another. I would like to install radiant heat in the first floor in the floor. I have access in the basement (unfinished) to the beam bays. I ran four loops of 1/2" oxy-pex each loop is between 250' and 270' . I ended the loops close to the boiler. When this project is complete I will frame in the boiler room. My boiler is a Weil-Mclain Gold CGa 145,000 btu. I currenty have forced hot air heat in piped into my air handler. And with the open floor plan and an open starwell to the second floor it is not the best heat.

So here come the questions?
    I would like to run the radiant as 1 "zone". Because I need the first floor heated somewhat evenly due to the open floor plan. Is that ok?

I would like to use 1 circulator what size Taco would do the trick?
    Thanks
    James

Re: Radiant Help Needed?

yes you can run your first floor as 1 zone and personally i wouldnt use a taco i would use a grundfos with 3 speeds and a integeral check personally.
    also dont forget your mixing valve.. you want your radiant aprox. 80 degrees

Comment

If it's a staple up you're gonna need temps higher than 80. How many total feet of pipe for the zone?
      sigpic

Comment

Yep, need about 100 to 110 degrees with nearly 300' for each loop. Coil in air handler should be over 180 degrees. Need to add a second zone with separate pump and tempering valve for radiant zone. You'll need a high head pump for the radiant. I use the Taco 009 for this application. It's the strong silent type I use the Grudfos UPS15-58 3 speed for just about every other application.

Comment

Guys Thank You Very Much.