Radiant Heater vs. Forced Air

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Radiant Heater vs. Forced Air

Hey guys. I'm no heat expert at all. I am wanting to add heat to my garage this winter. I live in Northern IL so we can have harsh winters. My garage is 856 sq ft or 39' x 22'. It is drywalled but the attic has no insulation. I plan on adding cellulose insulation 15" deep which would give me R49.

I also am debating between Radiant & Forced Air heat. I found a 75,000 btu mr heater at northern tool. http://www.northerntool.com/webapp/w...6363_200316363
    I think for the price it is a decent unit. Unless you professionals can tell me otherwise.

My other idea is Radiant heat but I don't know where to start looking. I called a heating place around here asking about them and the guy said it is not practical for a residental garage. Is this true? If not can you guys give me some reccommendations for how long of a radiant tube I need and what brands to look for?

I plan on keeping the garage around 45 and maybe 60 when i'm out there tinkering. Also I see there is a tax credit this year from uncle same if I get a 95% efficent. Is this possible for a garage heater?

water squirter

don't know anything about mr. heater. i have put in 2 hot dawgs for my kids. they work great. no problems at all. believe me they would call if there were. google "hot dawg heater". i googled "mr heater". they have been in business for 40 years. my guess is they will be fine. i would not be afraid of them. breid.........

Comment

Re: Radiant Heater vs. Forced Air

75,000 btuh would do 1300ish sq ft so much to big. Radiant heats the stuff, forced air heats the air. Right away heat only where the tube can "see" you is the beni there. Forced air will be the more affordable though. Fat chance of 95% but possible. It's 30% of your cost up to 1500.00 If your doing it yourself, it might not help a ton but any of Uncle Sams money is better than none.

Comment