X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wall heater pilot lite goes off

I bought this older home that has two wall heaters..one is in the living room and the other in the kitchen hall..both where cleaned by service guy...the pilot lite goes off once a week..the heater guy told me their ok and keep them uner 70 so they dont turn off..but they keep on turning off..can anyone give me some advice??he told me that it might be the plumbing in the back of the wall that needs to be replaced and thats 600 to fix,,,
    Last edited by ciscolokz; 12-28-2009, 02:20 AM.

Re: Wall heater pilot lite goes off

First of all I am not an expert on this,
    but I will tell you my experience with similar,

I had a heater in the barn, and it would go out more often than liked, and mostly when it most needed,

my first thoughts is or was the thermocouple, (I think I swapped it out with a know working unit, and conclude it was not the cause),

(some times there is an adjustment on the pilot light to adjust the flame. some times it is an orifice).

I readjusted the flame correctly,

I have found the position of the pilot was causing problems, in that it would not light the burner easily but with kind of a "WOOF" in other words a lot of gas was being light at once and not smoothly, and it would blow out he pilot light,

I have also seen where it when it would shut down that some times it may not shut down as quietly as I thought it should, blowing out the pilot,

I ended up readjusted ing the position of the pilot (in my old floor heater it helped a lot), and yet at times it would still go out, I made a shield out of "hard ware cloth" heavy wire screen and that helped to keep the flame from being blown out,

there were times drafts would blow across the floor and blow it out as well,