Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Central a/c tuneup

Hi,
    I'm not a HVAC expert nor do I work in the area, but I was hoping for some advice. I have central a/c (had replaced inner coils and outside unit 3 years ago) and it's working just fine. I've been told to have a regular tune-up every year and I was just wondering if that is true. My old unit died within 6-7 years but it was also the most basic model that came with the house.

I appreciate it!

Re: Central a/c tuneup

Yes any HVAC or boiler system should be serviced every year. This is not a major service if it is done properly. In your case the fins of the condenser should be cleaned of debris. The evap coil will also be cleaned and all electrical points of the system are tested. The big issue you are avoiding by annual service is build up on the coils. You are keeping proper air flow which keeps the unit running at it's efficiency and prolongs the life of a unit by at least 2X.

Comment

Thanks very much. I just made an appointment for an inspection and apparently then I will get an estimate about how much the tune-up will be. Does that sound right? I got this recommendation through a friend and seems to have good ratings with BBB. Anyway, I definitely want to prolong the life of the unit by all means, it was horrible when it broke last time.

Comment

Originally posted by natalie1999 View Post
        Thanks very much. I just made an appointment for an inspection and apparently then I will get an estimate about how much the tune-up will be. Does that sound right? I got this recommendation through a friend and seems to have good ratings with BBB. Anyway, I definitely want to prolong the life of the unit by all means, it was horrible when it broke last time.