X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Furnace blower comes on before ignition

I was a funace tech years and years ago, back when standing pilots were the norm. I have a Lennox Furnace, when the tstat calls for heat the main blower comes on before the ignition cycle has finished. This makes for cool air to be circulated until it warms up. I'm curious if there is a timer or temp switch that could have failed or are they incorporated into the control board? Thanks.

Re: Furnace blower comes on before ignition

Doesn't it run before ignition to clear any gas that may have accumulated in the fire box to prevent an unexpected explosion?

Comment

Originally posted by ArizonaPlumber View Post
      Doesn't it run before ignition to clear any gas that may have accumulated in the fire box to prevent an unexpected explosion?
      You are referring to the draft inducer fan motor, he makes it sound like he is talking about the blower motor fan.
      AllurePlumbing.com
      • leak detection
      • drain cleaning
      • utility locating
      • conductor fault locating
      • and other specialties.

Greensboro NC, Winston-Salem NC, High Point NC, Thomasville NC, Kernersville NC

Comment

- the ignition cycle should last no longer than 5 seconds on any furnace (from spark to flame). it may be up to 45 seconds for hot surface ignition
        - check for dirty pilots, orifices, burners
        - check for correct fuel pressure
        - check to make sure the board is not set to continuous blower
        - check for no jumper between W and G terminals
        - engage a call for heat at the wall with no thermostat attached (ensures wiring is ok, if fan problem stops replace tstat)
        - check the board to see when the timer engages the main blower, some are fixed and not resettable