X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HVAC core condensation

There is a ton of water leaking out from my air handler unit- so much so that the pan overflows faster than the water can be drained out. What I think is happening is that my core develops a lot of frost around it because my fan motor doesn't always start when the core starts getting cold. I replaced the fan motor and that didn't fix the problem. I also replaced the thermostat. Is what I think it is possible, and if it is what else could be the problem?
    Thanks.

I had a similar problem last year. I am not a professional and don't play one on TV but I can give you an idea of what my friend who fixed mine said that my problems could have been.

My lines going into the furnace and the a coil itself were frozen and all mine needed was to be cleaned and topped off with freon. (central air unit)

My friend said that if that did not work it was possible that my a coil needed to be cleaned.

Now it turns out that my a/c unit is not properly sized to my furnace. I have no idea what that means but it does in fact have an apparent issue with condensation because i get a lot of water coming off mine. it pours out of the tube. It was going into my floor drain but that got to be a pain so i put in a condesent pump (forgive the spelling). The pump keeps up and has solved my problem.

Good luck
    \"A SHIP OF WAR IS THE BEST AMBASSADOR\"<br /><br />OLIVER CROMWELL

Comment