X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• air handler condensation drain trap

I have a brand new airhandler, and have the install nearly completed. I note the paperwork with the unit says, that i should have a trap in the condensation drain. The pipe size is 3/4"..
    a check at local home building supplys does not turn up any traps that small.. where would i get one of these, and if i don't have it will it mess me up in the future?
    any info you have on this will be read and appreciated.. thanks
    HW
    If it won\'t fit you need a bigger hammer!

HW,

Though I am by no means giving advice here, I have seen 1000's of all sizes of these units. Being a commercial flat roofer, I deal with these things daily. I can tell you that if there is no trap, it can leak inside the building.

This is a discription of a typical trap I've had to deal with:

Horizontal pvc to a elbow going down, to a elbow going horizontal, into a elbow going vertical, to a elbow going horizontal. As long as the final elbow is just below the unit's drain, you have created a trap.

From experience, removing the trap, the unit can freely suck air through the drain, letting the water build up and spill over inside the unit. Similar to draining your air compressor. Do it with full tank of air, you'll get no water. With very little air, all water is released. Water will only drain off when the unit is not running without a trap.

Hope this was what you were looking for.
    John E. Adams<br /><a href=\"http://www.woodys-workshop.com\" target=\"_blank\">www.woodys-workshop.com</a>

Comment

Originally posted by UO_Woody:
      HW,

Though I am by no means giving advice here, I have seen 1000's of all sizes of these units. Being a commercial flat roofer, I deal with these things daily. I can tell you that if there is no trap, it can leak inside the building.

This is a discription of a typical trap I've had to deal with: