Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
3/16" brake line work - questions on tube cutting, bending, flaring Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3/16" brake line work - questions on tube cutting, bending, flaring

I am new to this & have decided to take a project on of relocating my proportioning valve & making & bending my own brake lines.

I just purchased ridgid SS tubing cutter (model 97212 15-si) & tubing bender (model 403). whats the best way to use the cutter (keep in mind I have never used one before) - do I need some sort of oil? are there any instructions anywhere? I briefly tried to cut a piece of tubing & I had to tighten & untighten the cutter & reposition it multiple times (I don't think this was right)

I did purchase cunifer tube (roll) from fedhill (http://cunifer.com/). Cunifer is a copper nickel alloy used for brakelines. I do plan on purchasing some cheap steel line - to practice cutting / bending / & flaring

lastly all the fittings are -3an - so I purchased a an Imperial 37 degree flaring tool, does anyone have any tips for using this as well

Re: 3/16" brake line work - questions on tube cutting, bending, flaring

You have a lot of basic question that need some pics to answer them effectivly. Go to HD and pick up a plumbing book and it'll show you all the things you need to know about that. I can tell you that I like to make my bends first then cut to length and flare.
    Buy cheap, buy twice.

Comment

thanks for the advice

Comment

Glad to see your helping this guy with his brake lines Ben, but I thought you didn't like stealing another trades job?

If he kinks it, then it breaks, then he'll lose pressure, well you know the rest.
        Proud To Be Union!!

Comment