Propress in a tight spot

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Propress in a tight spot

got a call yesterday from a new customer i met the day before at the hardware store.

i was helping out at the hardware store when he had come in for help with a seat wrench. told him he was in luck as i don't really work here

but i'm really a plumber helped him out and he asked for my card. never thought he would call less than 24 hours later with an emergency

turns out his tenant hit a hose bibb in the garage and kinked it bad enough to leak.

we decided to eliminate this hose bibb as it's in a garage that is served by a sump pump for the emergency drains. typically hose bibbs are not allowed when the drain in the garage are not gravity to the street.

the 1/2'' pipe was located behind the stucco and shear-wall. fortunately there was about 2'' of pipe i was able to salvage and not have to cut into the wall to get to it.

so how to you cap a pipe that's flush with the wall and still running?

with propress of course

used my new swivel jaws to allow the jaw and tool to make the press without getting into the wall while the water was still running

here is a better link to the swivel jaws. http://www.ridgid.com/Tools/ProPress-Rings

rick.

kinked 1/2'' copper.

hard to see, but the jaws that allowed me to access the fitting are the new swivel jaws. normally the tool and jaws are perpendicular to the pipe fitting. in this case i'm parellel to the pipe .

pressed a female adapter on so it can be used later if need be to install another bibb. spoke about an acorn recessed locking hose bibb box.

hose bibb 1, car 0. this is a 15 year old building and first time it's been hit.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by PLUMBER RICK; 07-16-2009, 09:20 AM.
    phoebe it is

Re: Propress in a tight spot

So what happened to the car?

Comment

it has new 3d pin stripping

rick.
      phoebe it is

Comment