Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
Help with Ridgid 345 tube flaring tool - why won't flare nuts slide on? Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with Ridgid 345 tube flaring tool - why won't flare nuts slide on?

I am new to using flaring tools, and cannot figure this out. I've tried about 10 times. I am using 3/8" steel brake line as the tubing. I am making single flares.

After I make my flare, the tube nut will not slide all the way down the tube and seat on the flare. It is being hung up on the walls of the tube, right behind where the flaring tool jaws grab the tube. I did some experimentation and, even if I just tighten the jaws of the flaring tool down on the tube (and do NOT proceed to flare the tube) the problem still exists.... so it seems like the problem is a result of the tube being clamped down in the tool, and not the flaring process.

So then I thought "hey, I just won't clamp the tube down as tight" but if I don't tighten the clamp down far enough, the flaring cone will not center on the tube.

What do I do?! Do I just have unusually sensitive tube nuts? They are the long brass ones.

Thanks, -Dave

Re: Help with Ridgid 345 tube flaring tool - why won't flare nuts slide on?

I uploaded a picture to show where the tube nut is stuck. This is where it stops. It will not slide all the way up to the flare.
    Attached Files

Comment

I really do not know, this is some thing I would try,