X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm having problems cutting thread in pvc

I am not a plumber or work with pipes normally, but am an engineer by trade.

I'm trying to cut threads on a 1 1/4 pvc sch40 pipe. This will be used to house electronic equipment and not used for any pressure purpose. I have a special 12R rigid die for pvc, using a handle.

While cutting the threads, I get about 3/4 of the way through, when the handle stops suddenly. It requires an enormous amount of pressure to continue. However I noticed when then happens, I back it off just slightly and notice that it looks like it's taking a rather large bite of material, spanning about 4 thread widths. It usually cuts very small strips that exit the die separately, but this is a large chunk of plastic spanning about 4 threads that is all connected together.

If I back off even further, causing one of the cutter blades to pass backwards over that spot, it seems to remove that 'chunk' of material and I can continue using only light force. When it gets to where the pipe is just barely covering all the cutters, the handle stops again. This time, it's permanent. I can't make it cut beyond that, no matter what I try. The pipe turns in the vise if I use more force.

It was my understanding that the end of the pvc pipe should extend to the end of the die and not just barely covering all the cutters.

I also noticed that when I try to screw an end cap on, on some threads, the cap goes on many turns before it tightens while on other threads, it only goes on a couple of threads before stopping.