X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Flexible Fire Sprinkler Connections

I'm new to the biz and haven't ever bought or installed these? What's the main application for them? Retrofits? What is a good price for 36" flex that can handle 175 psi?

Some companies that carry them:
    AquaFlex® Sprinkler Fittings - Victaulic
    FlexHead Flexible Fire Sprinkler Connections for Industrial, Commercial, Institutional and Cleanroom Use.

Re: Flexible Fire Sprinkler Connections

I use the flex heads and absolutely love them. I use them them for concealed piping work with the heads below the drop ceiling. They have saved my butt a couple of times when the ceiling grid layout changed. I use to hard pipe the drops into the center of tile (+ or - 1") before the grid was installed and then come back and cut the drops to length. They are a real time saver. Screw in the flex connector, flex pipe, flex nipple with head installed and hang them in the bar joist til the grid is installed. A 200 psi hydrostatic test can be mad on them as well. You can be tested out before any of the other trades are even close to starting!!

Try them out on a small office type job and you will never go back to one inch pipe and 90*'s.

All you need is an 18" pipe wrench to make the flex connector into your 1" outlet, and a pair of channel locks to tighten the nuts on the flex, and the screws on the brackets. When making the heads into the flex nipple just turn them to line up with one of the flats (you will see what I mean).

Comment