Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Back-to-Back threaded fittings, possible?

Background information:

I'm studying fire sprinkler system layout. I have little knowledge of piping fabrication limitations.

Questions:

1. For pipe sizes of 1/4" - 2" and type schedule 40 blk steel, is it possible for an average fabrication shop to create pipe lengths short enough to allow "back-to-back" threaded tee adjoining to another tee, or tee adjoining to an elbow? Can these short lengths be threaded?

2. Is it costly if it can be done?

3. If the pipe length or threads cannot be feasibly fabricated, can you have the fabrication shop weld the threaded fittings together on the side that they are touching other fittings, and leave the side for pipes open?

4. Could someone please tell me the industry terminology for back-to-back fittings, so that I may better search for relevant information?

Thank you very much for any help you may give.
    Last edited by lw1990; 02-04-2013, 02:35 PM.

Re: Back-to-Back threaded fittings, possible?

Not completely sure what your asking but there are close nipples that when tightened up there is nearly no pipe exposed,

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nipple_(plumbing)
    A "close nipple" has no untreated area; when screwed tightly between two female fittings, very little of the nipple

remains exposed.

usually to remove close nipple one needs a special internal nipple wrench if you do not want to damage the threads,

normally nipples are cheaper to buy than try to make your self, there are nipple chucks that can hold the pipe sections for threading in a machine,

I think you need to take a field trip down to a supply house or a good hardware store, or find a pipe suppler and get or down load a fittings catalog,

Attached Files
    Last edited by BHD; 02-04-2013, 10:32 PM.
    Push sticks/blocks Save Fingers
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~