X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Difficult pressing decision

I have a difficult situation and look forward to any discussion. I have a multi-storey building that was built around 30 years ago. Back then they did some strange things especially with materials used. Over here we used to use lots of copper and copper composite(hope this is the right description) products in commercial buildings. Now many of the buildings were gravity fed from the top plant room so sometimes materials were of lesser grades. Essentially we have 4 grades/type of Copper tube, a,b,c & d. Of course d is the thinnest. Most of the time the minimum grade allowed was Type B. However local conditions, with the exception of gas which has to be a minimum of Type B. Now we have Flushometers installed in all of the building toilets. My problem is that they used 70/30 brass pipe as the supply line for the flushers. Now when I was an apprentice we were welding this material for sewer and waste in these buildings, not as water supply of any sort. I don't know the thickness of the material but if it is as I know it it is definitely not Type B copper tube. Problem, there is a leak. It is close to the joint where the tube bush was welded on and is screwed into a gate valve. Cant take the gate valve off, limited space. Cant use compression fittings, would do more damage flaring pipe. Also limited space. So I wonder whether as we have to use "compression sleeves" inside 50 tube before pressing would this work. I am going to pursue this with the viega reps down here but I haven't heard of it being used on anything other than Copper.(note:- Viega are only now looking to introduce Stainless Steel but it hasn't been released officially here yet). This is just another one of the fantastic challenges I am facing yet again.