X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Vibrating pipes

I'm a new construction plumber for the most part, but I get the very odd "service" derived call from family friends and such. Only had a few as I'm still an apprentice, and I'm wondering if you guys can maybe enlighten me potentially as to what this is.

I notice in the field that sometimes when you crack a ball valve or supply stop you might get a little bit of a vibration in the pipes, sort of a "shudder" but when the valve fully opens it goes away and the flow is normal. Well these people have a 3 floor house, with basement suite tenants. There are 2 bathrooms along the backwall, one on the 3rd floor, and one on the 1st floor, with a kitchen sink on the 2nd floor. I am guessing because they all share a common wall, that they probably share common supply pipes as well, going up/down the wall (didn't look, but that sounds the most likely to me). The house is a 35-ish year old house with copper pipes. The stops are chroem plated, compression stops with escutchion plates, the usual. The owner says he noticed the problem right around when they installed a newer toilet a few years ago down stairs but it only really got worse recently. It's hard to describe, but basically if they flush the toilet on the 3rd floor sometimes you wil get a solid vibration in the pipes, in the walls, almost like a hum. And the Hum can last for several minutes. I think it happens when they use the toilet on the bottom floor in the basement suite too. But he also said if they hum is occurring, and he turns on the water on the 2nd floor kitchen sink that the hum stops. They tried to replicate it, finally they did, but I don't want to start ripping apart/replacing things until I have a better idea of what it could potentially be. I figured it could be debris in the lines or something like that. I don't think it's water hammer related as it only happened recently. But it is definately noticeable.