Polybutelene

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Polybutelene

Im a plumber in Australia and have heard a few bad stories about polybutelene water services. Anybody heard similar? And if so long after installation?

The water service is the line suppling cold water to the house. The water distribution system is the piping within the house. It was never legal here to use Poly B for the water service. Polyethelene and copper were the norm, now its mostly Kitec and Municipex. With most Poly B distribution systems problems were showing up in the first 5 years and usally on the hot lines. Poor instalation tecniques and cheap plastic fittings were mostly to blame. Installed correctly with brass fittings, I know of many system that have been in service for over 10 years without problems. I installed alot of Poly B back in the day, even on some heating systems, and can count the number of problems on one hand.(fingers crossed )
    You will never expand your mind, if you do not challenge your beliefs.

By the reading of this post, you acknowledge and agree that the poster shall not be responsible or liable, directly or indirectly, for any damage or loss caused or alleged to be caused by or in connection with use of or reliance on any content contained herein.

Comment

from what I understand any exposure to uv light will also cause pb to break down and eventually leak...most problems with it were linked to that, and like honda head said the plasic fittings that were initially made to be used with polyb pipe. as far as heating systems go its not really a good idea to Use polyb as it has no oxygen barrier, and can allow air into your heating loops as well as your boiler...
      West Trail Mechanical Ltd
      Service. Commitment. Expertise.

www.westtrailmechanical.ca

Comment

Originally posted by bigPipe09 View Post