X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Copper For Gas Under Slab!!!

While readin back over the forum the candian plumbers reminded me of something I saw a few years ago.
    While a contractor was sawcutting a slab of an existing structure he cut into a copper line supplying natural gas.The entire system was plumbed under the slab with no protection from cocrete to copper, fittings were installed and soldered under the slab.Within my first week of being an apprentice I knew no way in the mid 1980's could you use copper for gas,I would be laughed out of the uniform plumbing code.

How do you figure a 80 home tract that was built in the 1970's was completed in the Ventura county and got passed the administrative authority.

Re: Copper For Gas Under Slab!!!

copper is used alot still for underground gas around my parts. Mostly soft type k, but sometimes you see type l sleeved with pvc. There are quite a few restrictions though, soldering isnt permitted,has to be brazed, flared, or an approved compression (and in my municipality they dont even allow that), if it is buried below slab or sidewalk though, it must be at least 2 feet below ground, so it wouldnt get cut by the concrete saw.
    Last edited by bigPipe09; 02-17-2007, 10:38 PM.
    West Trail Mechanical Ltd
    Service. Commitment. Expertise.

www.westtrailmechanical.ca

Comment

Originally posted by drtyhands View Post
      While readin back over the forum the candian plumbers reminded me of something I saw a few years ago.
      While a contractor was sawcutting a slab of an existing structure he cut into a copper line supplying natural gas.The entire system was plumbed under the slab with no protection from cocrete to copper, fittings were installed and soldered under the slab.Within my first week of being an apprentice I knew no way in the mid 1980's could you use copper for gas,I would be laughed out of the uniform plumbing code.