X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help me understand

I'm a General Contractor (small) here in MN. I make decent $$$, paying my bills, feeding my kids, and affording the business w/extra dollars in my account, know what I mean right. Now here is my is what just blows my mind. I was quoted $3500.00 ($2200.00 for furnace and the rest labor fee) by 6 plumbing business for a 95% high efficiency furnace, and all of them told me it could run higher than that, ok I said to all of them come and take a look. Only 2 called me and came over, the first one after looking the situation over said $3650.00, the second one said $3500.00.
    My buddy that works for _____ came over yesterday with the paper work on their furnace, 95% energy furnace, same warranty as the other ones. He'll give the furnace to me at his cost $1200.00 and will charge me $600.00 for labor fee for him and his helper. Told me it will take them no longer than 6 hrs, I said "do it". So this tells me that the other plumbers, are making $1000.00 from the furnace, and lets say $1300.00 for labor, thats a minimum of $2300.00 for lets say 8 hours. Rick is this standard fee's (profits) in California? If this is the case why the F___ did I get out of plumbing and went to General Contracting which gives me just as big of a head ache as plumbing did. I have to go to classes, I have insurance to pay, I have to have a license, the tools, you name it. If I tried to charge that much here in MN., I would never find work. Remember I am not a developer just a Contractor. I'm not bashing anybody here, I'm just trying to justify what they are trying to make in profits for being a small business. I deal w/plumbers all the time and the ones I do don't charge like that, but then again all they want to work on is new housing.