X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello

Let me introduce myself,before I ask a question.My name is Sean and I am a plumber from the U.K.and have been lurking for a while. Have found this site to be a good read, with posts by people with both feet on the ground and a wealth of practical experience. The reason I started browsing was to gain information on North American plumbing as I am thinking of emmigrating to Canada.At present I am working my through the National Plumbing Code of Canada 2005 (bit heavy going), also plan to get the Individual Learning Modules from Alberta and work through them,even if I don't move I think this will broaden my knowledge.
    My question is directed towards the Canadian plumbers but I would value any input.
    What is the feeling on the ground towards immigrants in the trades? ie are they wanted or needed?

As they say straight talk never ruined a friendship.
    thanks
    Last edited by seanwarde; 06-24-2007, 03:02 PM. Reason: spelling

Re: Hello

Sean,
    I am not from the Great White North, but can tell you from experience in the States that immigrants are usually well liked. In the Chicago area there are a lot of Irish in the trades. Most of us like their accents and comical stories about assimilation. A lot of the guys are hard workers, as it seems their apprenticeships/life stories are harder than ours. I would say, go for it, and happy plumbing.

Comment

We one guy from England and two more coming in our company. The place right now hurting for plumbers is Calgary. Check out a newspaper called the calgary sun classfieds from the companies. AS for new immigrants where booked one week in advance so as long as you know your stuff all the power to anyone coming to Canada.

Comment

Originally posted by seanwarde View Post
        What is the feeling on the ground towards immigrants in the trades? ie are they wanted or needed?