Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Business Question (Job Contracting/Brokering)

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Business Question (Job Contracting/Brokering)

Everyone has a different way how they run their business, just thought it might be interesting how everyone works theirs, what works for them.

I'll go first since I'm the newbie here. I run plumbing service only, had a shovel in my hands for the first time last monday in 3 years. I'm slowly phasing out of water heater replacements and I cherry pick my drain cleaning calls these days. I prefer to rebuild Delta 2 handle lav faucets all day but that's not feasible. Anything that takes over a 3-5 hour period I try to avoid completely, and if they are repeat customers I'll break that call over a 2 day period so I can run all my rinky dink scheduled calls and beater calls all in the course of a day.

When it comes to PowerVent water heater service and repair of electronics I send them all away to the authorized rep in my area for all 3 mfgs. When I get outside dig jobs I send all of those to another master plumber that prefers to do nothing but outside work. Then there is a plumber I send all my out of town calls to do large plumbing jobs like an Old Navy or Macy's or some large job involving a crew to do the work. I'm not into starting jobs and not getting paid for months. It's not going to happen.

I never ask for kickbacks from any of these jobs, I don't sub them out under the name of my company. It's just like a football game and I've thrown an interception to where the other team is taking the ball and running with it. That way if the job goes sour, my name isn't attached to it.