Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Locating a 2" waste line

Aloha from Hawaii guys,

I'm a newbie to this site so go easy on me.

My problem:

A good friend calls me because of a clogged shower drain. I say "no biggie, should take about 20 minutes".

I head over there with my ole' K-38 with a 3/8 cable and several bulb heads. After 2 tries, I couldn't get into the main 3" line. After running about 4 feet of cable it stops....I ended up pulling out mud both times. Worst case scenario, broken pipe.

This house is on a slab. Originally there was a typical 5'x30" tub which was renovated 2 years ago. Now the new shower drain is centered with a new PVC trap and arm. Just from the feel of it, I'm assuming the new plastic pipe is approx. 3 feet long to where it connects to the existing no hub C.I. pipe.

Does any one make a camera that will negotiate a 2" PVC P-trap?

I would like to locate the pipe to determine whether or not the shower needs to be torn out.

I guess I could cut the plumbing wall open where the shower valves are located to see if the shower vent pipe is there. But if it isn't.....I'm just trying to see what other options are out there.

Thanks in advance.

Re: Locating a 2" waste line

Mini seenake. From a local boy who grew up in Wahiawa.
    Buy cheap, buy twice.

Comment

Ridgid Micro sea snake with 2 extensions. Scroll down and read the storys. Also good deals on them. My 87 year old grandmother is walking again!
      Seriously great tool and cheap around $250
      I can build anything You want , if you draw a picture of it , on the back of a big enough check .

Comment

Yasuda, First of all Welcome to the forum. I would recommend the see snake mini as well. It should handle 2" fine.

as far as the micro... have any of you guys negotiated a 2" trap with the micro yet?

Comment

Originally posted by Josh View Post