X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Job Etiquette

Something I just wrote on another thread makes for a good discussion.

In the years I have as a plumber, I've had the uncomfortable firsthand experience of being a sounding board for women who have been treated unfairly by those in my profession, toting the chauvinist attitude that they don't know plumbing or pushing the discussion towards the hubby.

In speaking for myself only, the majority of people that call me are women, not men when it comes to plumbing. They talk to others more than the male counterpart goes and I assume that whatever I'm saying, it's going to be pipelined straight to the husband as a interpretation.

The more precise, the more thorough you can be in relaying plumbing knowledge regarding their situation, the better that back at yourself.

Never agree with someone when they say "I'm dumb when it comes to plumbing". I hear it a lot and I just reference that I'd never work on my computer, some things you just have to hire out to take care of issues at the home.

I know quite a few plumbers in my community that have a reputation of being very..........obnoxious when a female questions their reasoning/justification for doing a task or a question with some depth, asking why a certain thing is being done.

Women like to watch while you work too. They'll shy away initially and comment aloud but I always tell them that if I had a problem with it that I'd have a hell of a time in my line of business. People want to learn while watching and I'll throw a bunch of knowledge their way as I'm sure they'll only retain a fraction of it. Dropping hints to save money in the lines of plumbing removes a selfish connotation that I'm here to gouge you as much as I can.