X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• laid off plumber

IM a journeyman plumber, mostly new construction, things are very slow here. It looks like a lot of you guys are in service or commercial, how are things going in your areas of expertise.

Re: laid off plumber

hate to hear that but not unexpected, in columbia new housing is at a stand still, new construction is staying steady, with fort jackson the university and being that columbia is the capitol things are steady, service wise everyday is a new life and some day are better than others. fortunately were not getting it as bad as others, ive got a brother in michigan in the plumbing business as he's getting the sh#T kicked out of him. good luck to all.
    Last edited by aero1; 04-08-2008, 07:50 PM.

Comment

Sorry to hear your situation. Here in Westchester County things are still very good.

Comment

Sorry to hear that.

Things are very slow here in Maryland. Residential Construction is pretty much at a stand still.
        Proud To Be Union!!

Comment

I am in northern Indiana on the service side and it is mediocre at best.

Sorry to hear you are laid off. Is this your first time being laid off?

Due to many factory closings, auto suppliers moving to Mexico and trailer factory guys being let go, we have increased our share of hacks/handymen.

Suddenly because they worked on a fifth wheel they are capable of doing plumbing, electrical and carpentry. This is great for them because they don't turn it in as income, don't pay taxes and still get their unemployment checks. Sorry for the rant.
          Anyone can tear a man down, few can build one up.

Comment

Originally posted by Tyman View Post
            This is great for them because they don't turn it in as income, don't pay taxes and still get their unemployment checks. Sorry for the rant.

I agree!!

Sorry for your situation, hang in there and it will all work out. when one door closes another opens