Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HVAC Tech to Plumbing Tech Conversion

Howdy,

I am new to the Ridgid Forum, so I'll start by introducing myself. My name is Bryan Lee, I live in Fresno, CA, (central California) and I have been a C-20 (HVAC) & C38 (Refrigerantion) California contractor for 26 years. We specialize in HVAC service & retrofit (no new construction... ever )

As electric rates have gone up and the economy has cooleed, I see a need to move in a new "non-seasonal" direction, so I recently took the plumbing test and I am now the proud owner of a brand spankin' new 2008 California C-36 plumbing license . I know what you are thinking, oh great, another wanna be!

Now the hard part... I am trying to decide if there is a chance in **** that I could successfully cross-train very skilled HVAC techs to be part time plumbers... at least until I can get the engine humming and can afford the real thing.

One of the main reasons I would like to do this is that I need time to develop a solid flat rate pricing platform for the plumbing side, and I know it will be suicide to try to use a traditional "time and material" or "old school" plumber as the sounding board to create flat rate pricing. I know that if I use my own people who are use to our system, I will get fast and accurate feedback on how to set the pricing up.

My thought is to move slow using our own people and specialize in the basics, then expand with more talent after our basic systems are set-up.

Anyone have any experience with converting HVAC techs to plumbers? Your thoughts?

Thanks,

spodelee
    spodelee

Until lions have their own storytellers, stories of the hunt shall always glorify the hunter

Re: HVAC Tech to Plumbing Tech Conversion

At my company 8 out 11 tech's are licensed journeymen and HVAC techs. I see no problem at all.
    sigpic

Comment

old dog new tricks, sounds tough

Comment

Originally posted by spodelee View Post
        Howdy,