Better think twice

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Better think twice

This is a link from another forum. Please be careful and realize that you're responsible for your own safety. I deliberately posted here to get more views.

http://www.pulitzer.org/year/2004/pu.../nytimes1.html
    Buy cheap, buy twice.

Re: Better think twice

Somebody here had a close call recently (I think within the last 6 months).

Garager, was it you or your foreman? Who ever it was, was lucky to get out of the trench alive!
    I love my plumber

"My Hero"

Welcome, Phoebe Jacqueline!

Comment

Very sad story. The company name seems really familiar for some reason.

Comment

I had one cave in on me when I was a second year apprentice. I was in a 4' deep trench and I was using a chipping gun for a water entry point through a foundation, the vibration cause the sides to collapse just behind me. It pushed me foward, but i was very lucky. Ever since then, I tell the excavators that they must shore it all up.

Comment

http://cincinnati.bizjournals.com/ci...2/story10.html

I remember getting the auction house letter to buy up equipment from this plumbing business when it got canned.

Glad to see their ending.
          Northern Kentucky Plumbers Twitter Feed | Plumbing Videos

Comment

That whole story is just sad. I don't know what else to say. It's just heartbreaking. I can almost see trenches without bracing being something done often to cut costs. Or am I wrong?

By the way, do some companies just use 4x8" sheets of plywood and some 4x4s for braces? Or is there actual equipment for bracing?
            Last edited by HouseOfAtlas; 06-10-2008, 12:47 AM.
            YourHomeContractor.com - The Trusted Online Community For Homeowners and Contractors.

Plumbing Reviews

Comment