X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello

Long-time listener, first time poster. Just thought I would say Hello to all of the other forum members and introduce myself. I have been working in the Defiance, OH area for about 3 years on my own. Sometimes I wonder if the road is really worth it, and sometimes it seems like it is the yellow-brick road. How do some of you guys cope with the hassles and headaches that come with being an owner and not want to go back to just an hourly wage, punch out at 5, and leave all the worries there.
    Last edited by plumbing101; 09-12-2008, 02:00 AM.

Re: Hello

I ask myself the same thing on occasion, and the reality of it is, I am not sure I could go back to work for someone else and work their hours, have to explain that on next Tuesday I'm not going to start until 10, because I am going to go read stories at my daughter's preschool class(or whatever the situation is.) It does sure seem much easier to just collect a paycheck, but as tough as working for myself is, each time I always come back to the rewards of being self employed outweigh the headaches, stress, long hours etc. Then again, I stressed about work even working for someone else...Racquetball helps relieve stress, is good exercise and is pretty darn fun, I try to play 2x a week.

Welcome to the Forum.
    Greg

Comment

Yea, I guess I would probably not make a very good employee anymore. I can imagine a boss would not look very kindly on those days I needed to completely take off to do something with the family, or the days I needed to take off early to take my daughter to gymnastics.

Comment

welcome plumbing 101

lots of local ohio guys on the forum

looks like a roundup with lots of locals next year.

sure working for yourself is not like working for a company and checking out.

but then again in time you can pick and choose your jobs, hours, and scope of work.

if it was easy, everyone would be doing it

join the fun.