X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gas log in fireplace

West Coast Eichler. Slab on grade,one story post and Beam home. Lots of floor to ceiling glazing. Roof slight pitch. Years ago I extended gas line up through roof jack to 3 drops,
    laundry,gas stove,stainless gas stove in Master Bedroom. At that time I added a tee and plug for gas log. Being a welder I have a 16 ton hydraulic pipe bender 1/2"- 3" shoes.
    At the ridge .I did a 16 degree bend on 3/4" Galvy pipe. NO flaking of coating. We'll see
    If Insp. makes Me change this out! Sure beats gas tite ,in My mind! Pix will follow later.
    Tool
    I can build anything You want , if you draw a picture of it , on the back of a big enough check .

Re: Gas log in fireplace

I have a 3/8 bender
    Last edited by stokefire7; 10-19-2008, 09:23 PM.

Comment

Gas appliance in bedroom?

What does your code say about bending pipe?

For that matter, what does MY code say about it?

I'de feel better about having a piece of CSST in there than a stressed piece of galvy

Comment

Originally posted by toolaholic View Post
        West Coast Eichler. Slab on grade,one story post and Beam home. Lots of floor to ceiling glazing. Roof slight pitch. Years ago I extended gas line up through roof jack to 3 drops,
        laundry,gas stove,stainless gas stove in Master Bedroom. At that time I added a tee and plug for gas log. Being a welder I have a 16 ton hydraulic pipe bender 1/2"- 3" shoes.
        At the ridge .I did a 16 degree bend on 3/4" Galvy pipe. NO flaking of coating. We'll see
        If Insp. makes Me change this out! Sure beats gas tite ,in My mind! Pix will follow later.
        Tool
        Sorry but if he allows it he should be fired. Gas piping can only change direction with the use of fittings or factory bends. I'm curious how you can pull a permit on just a gas line? Is this a remodel where you are also doing carpentry and what not?

Mark