Who still sharpens their bitts ????

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Who still sharpens their bitts ????

As an old Carpenter I started out sharpening My own hand saws and circ. saw blades.
    I have multiple sharpening set ups. On the job the other day I hand filed Some of My large
    Millw. augers. A good book is the razors edge. That's what has given Me good skills.
    Smart Buss. ? Maybe not,but I sure enjoy it,and It's real handy. Maybe with some help We can find a good U tube on Auger sharpening. Wonder If any trade schools are passing this on to the Kids? Thanks Tool
    I can build anything You want , if you draw a picture of it , on the back of a big enough check .

Re: Who still sharpens their bitts ????

i plan on sharpening my bitts as soon as i get me a bitt sharpener.

i frequent the dump here and i find many, many good tools there. mostly wrenches and drill bits.

i guess alot of people can't be bothered to take the time to re-sharpen or even clean their tools.

good for me. i'll take them.

i guess i'm from a different generation, old school. and that's okay, i am who i am.

i look at the tools i've gotten for nothing other than a little elbow grease to bring them back up to working condition with great pride.

Vince

Comment

I always kept a file to sharpen my augure bits when I was doing new home plumbing. I knew sticking my head in the floor joist and pushing wasn't the way it should be when I was apprenticing. The trouble is all I can do is put a sharp edge on the blade and teeth but eventually I'd have to let a pro get all the depths of the teeth and the angles back to the way they should be.

For regular drill bits the drill doctor ROCKS. Great investment.

Comment

I do

Comment

I sharpen everything but skillsaw blades, annular cutters, drills, and augurs cost$$$

Comment

Originally posted by saysflushable View Post