X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• chain wrench

our company services gas stations, and as such we frequently have to spin a 4" riser out of a sump. Ridgid used to make a chain wrench, or chain vise that attached to the riser and a piece of 2" x 5' square stock went over a square tab on the vise and stuck out of the ground so we could put a pair of 36" wrenches. anybody know where we can get one of these. originally i believe the wrench was sold with a 6' two sided handle with a ratcheting piece in the middle for two men to use.
    thanks

ron

Ron,

That was the UST Wrench (cat #56807) and you are correct, we don't make it anymore. I just did a quick Google and didn't find anything, but you might check eBay, or Google on your own.

That was quite an outfit, wasn't it. I had a particular fondness for it, because I got to do the magazine ad photo shoot. The pro was busy the day they did field trials, so knowing I'm an avid photographer, I was asked to shoot some action shots. They ended up in the national advertising campaign! I've still got a copy from one of the magazines in my portfolio.

Sorry we couldn't help you more,
    Steve
    Steve
    www.MorrisGarage.com

Comment

WILL A MCMANNIS WRENCH SUBSITUTE? HOW MUCH CLEARENCE IS IN THE SUMP FROM THE SIDE WALL TO PIPE. I'VE HAD TO CUT AN24'' WRENCH AND WELD A PIPE TO EXTEND IT TO THE SURFACE. YOU COULD WELD A SOCKET TO THE WRENCH ON BOTH SIDES TO TO ALLOW FOR REMOVAL AND TIGHTENING.
      P.S I DID STUMBLE ACCROSS YOUR WRENCH ON EBAY MONTHS AGO.

Comment

http://www.ridgid.com/parts/hand/ust.pdf
        that is the ridgid parts sheet,

but could you make one by using a bolt on chain vice, to a piece of square tubing, and or having another piece of square tubing to slip over the bolted on tube,

drill or torch a couple of large holes on the slip on tube and then insert a fair sized pipe through the hole for a handle.
        Push sticks/blocks Save Fingers