X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which water heaters....

Which water heater brands require the most service to work properly. I thought about U & I's thread on A.O. Smith. Seems like we run into A.O.'s being finicky but not other brands.

Do you see as many Rheems, BW's etc. getting out of tolerances & have to be adjusted or parts replaced on them (say, an ignitor).

Thanks.

J.C.

Re: Which water heaters....

I only see more AO Smith/State heaters more because they have been the biggest player in this market. That trend seems to be changing to Bradford White. Rheem is starting to make a push here as well.

Each manufacturer has their own proprietary parts that we have to go on a treasure hunt to find.

I know that a 10 year old heater will require less service than a 2 year old heater.

Comment

i've had lots of calls on rheem. probably because i'm an authorized installer.

biggest problem with their commercial is the blower assembly with pressure switch. a little lint/ dust on the blower wheel and the pressure switch doesn't close.

they've retrofitted the original hardware cloth/screen with a larger style screen mesh to allow for more of a filter.

usually a toothbrush will clean the internal blower wheel and restore the positive pressure to close the switch.

rick.
      phoebe it is

Comment

We have oodles of call backs on the John Wood GSW 40 & 50 gal conventional HWTs on the TCO switch. It seems that in an attempt to sneak in under a certain bracket of efficiency, they messed with the output of the pilot light, and now the TCO's aren't compatible. Then they offer me 55 bucks (Which I have neve received) to go back and switch it out. I only do it to keep my customers happy, not for the 55 beak.