Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Describe your hardest, most frustrating job(s).

when i was a younger man here in rankin, i was an apprentice working for the department of public works, plumbing department.

of course it was -40. most likely windy. just the way i love it.

the first indication that there was anything wrong was when the sewage starting pouring out of one of the manholes. believe me, for such a small town it was a lot of sewage. grey with a slight tint of brown with little splashes of white here and there.

collapsed 10" sewer main. that may not sound very big compared to what some of you guys are dealing with down south but for up here that's a lot of poop.

i believe it took us a week of steaming and scraping the perma-frost to get to the main. it was only down about 6'.

when we finally dug down far enough to work on replacing the pipe, guess who "volunteered" to cut the pipe. yup. a rainsuit, rubber boots, rubber gloves and duct tape.

i'd have to say that not only was the most frustrating repair job i have done up until now, i would also have to say that it was the most rewarding job i've done so far.

Vince

the technology back in the mid 80's was nothing compared to today's. although steaming still has to be done, at least it's not a cleaver brooks boiler on a trailer that had to be lit up with a wick after the 10 hp motor was running.

Re: Describe your hardest, most frustrating job(s).

Pi$$es me off just thinking about some of them...

I've got a couple of older areas of town that have 1.5" / 2" CI washer drain lines under slab %$%#^T#%^^

I cringe everytime I get a washer B/U. The sad part is it is only going to get worse as these homes continue to age.

I will find the perfect way to clear them someday...

Comment

Staying married

Hands down, Christmas 1983