X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• shower stall replacement

hey Guys, this is Glenn. Im new to this forum. I wrote up a "hello" to everyone, if you care to view it heres the link: http://www.ridgidforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=27129

I am currently trying to replace an old shower stall. I actually installed the one that is getting replaced about 3 years ago. apprearently the tenants were heavy people as they cracked the flooring of the shower and the hub drain area too. the shower is the fiberglass piece together type that Lowes sells. is there an existing thread here that would show/tell me what I should do for the flooring to make sure that weight is never a factor anymore. should I put sand under there? concrete maybe? I can post pics tomorrow if needed. I did a search in the archives but came up with nothing. any help with this would be greatly appreciated. thanks, Glenn

Re: shower stall replacement

I know Im a newbie but I was hoping someone might give me some advice. this seems like a straight forward question/answer. no comments on what I should do to brace the fiberglass pan? anyone... Glenn

Comment

Make sure the floor joists and subfloor are in good condition and perhaps reinforced beyond the norm.

A concrete bed underneath can provide a good foundation to prevent damage to fiberglass units. Some prefer placing plastic on the subfloor, putting down the concrete mix, covering the mix with plastic, then pushing or placing the fiberglass unit bottom into it. The plastic gives a barrier between the concrete to keep the mix from bonding to the unit and the subfloor. Makes it provide a good base that's removable later if necessary for the next remodel.

Good luck.

J.C.

Comment

What kind of flooring is beneath the pan?

Comment