I'm stupid

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm stupid

I've been doing service and repair for about four years and I've recently started doing remodel work. It's a humbling experience. In a basement bathroom, three inch line runs across the basement and terminates at the new toilet flange. There is an existing cleanout headed out at the end of the building drain inside the basement. Do I need to install a three inch clean out at the end of my new line near the toilet. Customer dose not want a c.o. in the floor if we can avoid it. Contractor doesn't want to have a 6' wall just for a clean out. I would tell them that it has to be that way but I'm a little rusty on the code and not brimming over with confidence. Any body know Oregon code (upc ish) as it applies to this situation.????

Re: I'm stupid

I would think that the toilet could be removed for snaking the line therefore you would not need an extra c.o. My code is not upc, so that would be my guess.

Comment

Why not just call your local codes officer? Mine are always willing to talk things through before doing the work. Easier then having to tear it out if incorrect. In PA a co is needed.

Comment

I looked at the Oregon code awhile back and it was different.

If I understand you correctly, for here in NC it is NOT required by code.

J.C.

Comment

If something is a little iffy the inspectors here are happy to give a quick ruling to save making unnecessary batches of frownies on a rough in inspection.

Comment

All I can speak on is Illinois Code. And here in Illinois a water closet is not considered a clean out.

TITLE 77: PUBLIC HEALTH
            CHAPTER I: DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH
            SUBCHAPTER r: WATER AND SEWAGE
            PART 890 ILLINOIS PLUMBING CODE
            SECTION 890.430 CLEANOUT EQUIVALENT

Section 890.430 Cleanout Equivalent