boilers

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• boilers

ok, I've been a plumber for several years now, but just in the past couple of months have I really gotten going in the service side of things.

Today I was working on a water line leak on a boiler in a nursing home, just a quick solder job, no big deal.

after I finished I stepped back and actually looked at the boilers, and I realized.... I Have no idea what all those pipes are, or where they are going, or why. No. Frikkin. Clue.
    I could probably figure it out if I could see where the pipes were going, but on a finished building, its just a pretty copper job.

So, can anyone recommend a good book on the topic?
    No, it's not rocket science, it's plumbing and unlike rocket science it requires a license.

Re: boilers

Google dan holohan he has some good resources. Just kinda curious though, didn't you get any hydronic or boiler training during school for your apprenticeship? Where I apprenticed and went to school (Northern Alberta Institute of Technology) the apprenticeship is 4 years and you attend 8 weeks each year of apprenticeship. Boiler piping is thouroughly covered as well as theory around how it all works.
    We used the "Trane Heating Manual" volume 1 hot water heating, along with many other resources supplied by the school. If you are able to get to a bookstore in a local technical school they will most likely have some student resources that you can buy and learn from.

Comment

Mo, www.heatinghelp.com has just about everything you need to know about hydronic heating. Dan's book Pumping away is very good also. You can buy it off that site wich is Dan's btw.
      sigpic

Comment

NHmaster has a good source

Although it takes many years of "hands on" to get to know heating systems,

Comment

Thanks guys, I'll be reading up on that.

as for my apprenticeship, it's not really like that in the south. It's something I kind of wish were different.