Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help a Plumbing Engineer out

Hey guys,

I am a 24 year old Plumbing Engineer from Knoxville. I've been doing design work for 6+ years at the same firm.

I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this, but I'm really curious about what we do as engineers that really bothers you, as plumbers. What are some common mistakes we make on our drawings? Why? What could we do better? Please, don't hold back. I'm sure that many of you know more about plumbing than I ever will, and I know that in this trade, learning from a plumber is better than learning from another engineer.

I really like plumbing, and I come from a plumbing family, so I feel that I'm pretty ambitious about my career and I like to do things right when I can.

Most of the work I do is schools, retail, offices, a few 10-15 story condos, government/military work, natural gas, and a little storm.

I have some questions for you guys, too, but I'll save those for later.

Re: Help a Plumbing Engineer out

Common mistakes ? have you ever tried to install a 6"DWV exactly where there's an "I" beam in the way or better yet a wall that cannot be moved.

Being an Electrician I don't have plumbing problems, however we share the same types of problems. Every now and then we actually get to see an engineer and say hey what's this ? Just something to think about.

Comment

Welcome to the forum.

First off, thanks for caring enough to ask our opinion.

I would respect engineers much more if they spent some time in the field. The whole "I am a engineer, therefor I am God" gets a little old. The only engineers I know who are level headed have spent time in the field.

My brother in law is a engineer, he often contemplates how the world ever got along without him.