shower problem

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• shower problem

please forgive the elementary question but i am a woodworker, not a plumber. My wife and i purchased a house from an elderly woman and neither bathroom had a shower. she had a hand held sprayer connected to a diverter on the spout and it worked for her. we however want a normal shower so i went to work. the faucet is an older two knob model. there is a female thread on top of the faucet assy behind the wall which i popped the cap out of and put in a piece of pipe to feed up for the shower head. hooked it all up with a new spout and i thought i was ready to go. when the water was turned back on and the faucet turned on, not only did water come out of the spout but also the shower head??? when the diverter is closed the water goes to the head only, but when open it comes out both. replaced the other little pipes in that area because they were corroded badly. didn't help. what am i missing?

ed
    \"A SHIP OF WAR IS THE BEST AMBASSADOR\"<br /><br />OLIVER CROMWELL

Ed Did you check the piping from the valve down to the tub spout? valve, pipe, 90, pipe into tub spout? some times its 3/4" pipe down, 1/2" up to the shower head with some types of valves. You have a presure balance problem. something is causing enough restriction (2-3#s)from valve to spout to force the flow up. 'Course, the for sure fix is to put in a new high quality shower valve, delta, or moen are my top picks. sounds like the wall is open now, and you WILL thank your self later!
    grumpy

Comment

nope, its all 1/2 inch. there is a local plumbing supply close by. i am going to stop buy this morning and see what suggestions they have. hopefully they just sell the faucet itself. but worse case i guess its another trip back to home depot for yet another item

thanks

Comment