X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• License Exam for the IPC

I have been in the plumbing trade for 10 years but never gotten a license. With the economy slow as it is, the plumbing companies will not hire me without my license. I have gotten all of the code books to study from but there's one area that I am in need of help. Part of the exam is practical knowledge or common knowledge. I am a commercial plumber with ZERO experience as a service plumber. From the sample tests I have seen there are quite a few questions on things like what is the most common tool a plumber uses? or what is the best tool for removing a blockage in a toilet? and how can you tell when a pipe is properly threaded?
    Is there somewhere, other than experience, where I can find this info with regards to common plumbing service?
    Thanks

Re: License Exam for the IPC

Welcome to the forum, If it is like what you say I wouldnt worry to much about the common sense part of the test. You should know enough after ten years in the trade as a commercial plumber to make good educated answers. Just remember that the exam is based on commercial code and not service work.
    ________
    Ford synus
    Last edited by TOPDAWG; 02-24-2011, 06:43 PM.
    Mike

Comment

How can you have been plumbing for 10 years without a license? or an apprentice card?
      sigpic

Comment

Originally posted by NHMaster3015 View Post
        How can you have been plumbing for 10 years without a license? or an apprentice card?
        I used to work at the same shop with a guy from TN. He said the majority of the state, with the metro areas as the exception, was the wild wild west with no inspections when he was there.

80's I think. Probably just getting the licensing down and more under control.

J.C.

Comment