X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• your companies tool policy?

i am a union plumber/pipefitter from colorado but due to the lack of work my local let me sign an agreement allowing me to work for a non union company until i reach the top of the "out of work" list. i get to keep my union benefits and my book while working for the non union shop. this isn't a common practice so i find myself very fortunate to be able to keep working as unemployment wasn't cutting it. not to mention i was bored out of my mind. anyway i'll get to the point. each union hall has its own requirements as to what tools each journeyman/apprentice is required to have. some halls require you to have only a tape measure while others require only hand tools. my hall had a list of basic hand tools and the most expensive things on the list were two torch tips and an 18" pipe wrench. it is the responsibilty of the employer to supply any tools over 18" and we are strictly forbidden to bring any type of personal power tools.