X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stainless or Galvanized?

I have zero experience with Stainless. Which does this look like to you.

I couldn't find an ASTM rating on it anywhere.

Thanks.

J.C.
    Attached Files

Re: Stainless or Galvanized?

Whats it supplying or returning from?

Whats running threw it?
    Proud To Be Union!!

Comment

That's your regular, run-of-the-mill, standard, off-the-shelf galvanized steel Schedule 40 pipe you have there. Nothing at all unusual about it. Except: That looks to be a check valve, which means you're running water through the piping, which could be a problem. Steel rusts, and as the great sage and philosopher Neil Young, via the boys in Devo, tells us: "Rust NEVER sleeps."

Oh, and could you tell us why the check valve is only on that one branch line? What the heck is this serving?

Comment

It's on a hose testing station. I too thought it looked just like regular galvanized and based on what they are telling me about the previous installer.

Now here is the issue I'm concerned about. This is pressurized often to 800 psi
        and I can't find the ASTM for 1"+ sch.40 galvanized to hold that pressure.

In short, pipe rated for that. And there is no stamp on it anywhere that I can see. However, it's been doing fine for a year now. No weeps at the joints either.

Thanks.

J.C.

Comment

Anybody got an ASTM membership or book?

Looking for ASTM A-53-A x 1.25".

Thanks.

J.C.

Comment

this has ASTM A-53-B
            http://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/as...ure-d_775.html

this is a poor picture, but has ASTM A-53-A
            http://pic.globalimporter.net/upload...0957834474.jpg

not sure if this is schedule 80 or 40
            http://www.sspipe.com/shared/pdf_fil...-dip_Galva.pdf