X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unlicensed plumber + disrespectful homeowner

Okay this might be kind of long so please read on.
    This happenend about 18 months ago, but I just came across the pics again today so thought I would share this.

In 2008 we had major flooding in Cedar Rapids, we then had a lot of people come to town to try to get work on flood repairs. The city required that all workers, both local and new to town to get a certificate to work on flood damaged homes. Even as a license contractor I had to get this additional cert. but hey I did get the cool laminated badge
    This was not a lic. to contract, but just to be able to work in the area.

So...I get a call from lady in a non flood area, she is adding master bathroom to upstairs bedroom, she hired "contractor" to do the plumbing. After the rough in was done, tub, shower and vanity were set, and he was paid (in cash as that is all he would take) she asks when he gets inspection

He says is can't get ins. as he isn't lic. plumber......... turns out he was just certified to work on flood homes, she didn't understand the difference.

She call the city and got one of our plumbing inspectors to come out, who helped her laboror to pull the tub, vanity and some flooring up to see what was roughed in. The attached pics are what he uncovered.

First pic: 2- 1 1/2" lines under shower, you can see in pic 2, one for drain one for vent....the only vent for the bathroom. The 1 1/2" that 90's up, was up to vanity with tee picking up 2 lavs

second pic: under the shower

third pic: This line is perpidicular to first line, the wye was picking up the trap for the master tub

fourth pic: this is the continuation of 2" from tub...there had been a 3" tee on its back for WC, then 3 x 2 bush in trunk for 2" to tub, lavs, shower........and of course the vent.