X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Adding value to water heater install.

With Rheem and AO Smith you can extend the manufacturer warranty by purchasing a warranty extension kit. The only physical component is the addition of an anode that fits in the hot water nipple opening. The rest of the warranty extension is paperwork. The cost ranges from $105 - $135.

It seems the water heater manufacturers agree the extra anode is important in reducing the risk of premature failure. I had a local plumbing supplier get me a few of these anodes at a fraction of the above prices.

As a plumbing contractor I've decided to make it a company policy to add this anode to every water heater I install. While not increasing the manufacturer's warranty the small cost of the anode will add value by increasing the life expectancy of the heater while simultaneously improving my customer's peace of mind about their purchase. Besides hopefully separating me from the competition this will lead to many happier...
    Attached Files
    Last edited by geno gardner; 11-04-2010, 06:25 PM. Reason: Improve clarity.
    Time flies like an arrow.

Fruit flies like a banana.

Re: Adding value to water heater install.

Those holes in the rod will not restrict flow?

So what do you upcharge for the warranty...its 10 years, right?

Comment

Originally posted by NorthernIllinoisPlumber View Post
      Those holes in the rod will not restrict flow?

So what do you upcharge for the warranty...its 10 years, right?
      I haven't measured before and after water flows so I can't provide a quantitative answer. The two holes are a bit smaller so the flow must be reduced to some extent. However, the flow from tubs has been more than sufficient so the reduction can't be significant.