Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trade Only

Hi I am a plumber in Australia.
    I am curious to know if our plumber cousins in the USA have a "Trade Only" supplier in their region?
    The "Trade Only" , or the "Don't Do It Yourself" campaign seems to be catching on with plumbers here. I have also noticed that the UK has Trade Only suppliers.
    The push is in reply to the DIY craze that came out of the USA.
    The idea is that home owners should call in a professional when they have a plumbing problem.

Anyway if someone is aware of anything like this in the USA, I would be happy to hear about it?

Cheers

Re: Trade Only

By us in Chicago, most of the HVAC suppliers will turn away anyone that is not a contractor. Heck I get turned away at times since I am not really into HVAC. But our plumbing supply houses will sell to anyone that is willing to walk through their doors.
    Ron Hasil Lic #058-160417
    A-Archer Sewer & Plumbing specializing in:
    Tankless Water Heaters | Drain and Sewer Cleaning
    Sump and Ejector Pumps | Backflow RPZ Testing

Comment

We have a few supply houses that are wholesale only. Most will sell to anyone with the cash. Though the HVAC suppliers like ratz said are a bit pickier. And, if it has anything to do with a freon system you need an EPA number for them to sell to you, some of them won't even sell filter driers and the like without an epa license.
      No, it's not rocket science, it's plumbing and unlike rocket science it requires a license.

Comment

HVAC supply houses in my area are mostly trade only.

But not having an EPA card wouldn't be the sole reason...it's because homeowners shouldn't be messing with gas or oil burner parts as well.

Plumbing supply houses are whores and sell to anyone.

Comment

This forum is cool!
          Thanks for the fast response!
          I have done some searching and reading on the net.