Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Who is able to shut the curb stop off?

I am a plumber who does service work for a municipality in Ontario. The other day one of the "water works" technicians tells me that a plumber is not legally able to shut the curb stop off, only a water works technician can. Please someone tell me this guy is full of crap!

Re: Who is able to shut the curb stop off?

Around here we can shut them off for service. But if the stop is not keyable, and we call the city out, they will make us responsible for the repair stating we where the last ones to stick our key in the B-box.

So when ever I have a call where the B-box needs to be shut down, I call the city out and ask them to make sure the b-box is keyable. In some cases they will leave their key in the b-box for us. Some cities want to come out and turn the water off and back on for us. So it all depends on the city and what they want.
    Ron Hasil Lic #058-160417
    A-Archer Sewer & Plumbing specializing in:
    Tankless Water Heaters | Drain and Sewer Cleaning
    Sump and Ejector Pumps | Backflow RPZ Testing

Comment

You have to check with your purveyor as they are all different. In some cities you are not allowed to touch them and they will fine you if it breaks. I have never broken one but one of my guys did.

Mark
      "Somewhere a Village is Missing Twelve Idiots!" - Casey Anthony

I never lost a cent on the jobs I didn't get!

Comment

Thanks, I'II check the by-laws.

Comment

Re: Who is able to shut the curb stop off? Old Irishman!

Are these Keys sold at supply houses? Was looking at one once, and
          The welder side kicked in. Lets see 10 ft piece of E.M.T conduit, weld
          Maybe 1 1/4" x 3/4" drive socket. Fill socket full of wax from wax ring. Now carefully lower in hole and make clean impression.
          Fab it up. Yes I'm dangerous!