Water Heaters 6 or 10 yr ?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Water Heaters 6 or 10 yr ?

I have been buying / installing State Select water heaters for a few years now. They offer a 10 yr. warranty which is just a replacement anode rod .That is $100 extra. I have never sold one to a customer . How many of you out there sell them to customers that want a 10 yr. warranty?
    Does it really extend the life of the heater 4 more yrs? Or are they just living on borrowed time after 6yrs. anyhow?
    ''Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy" Benjamin Franklin

Re: Water Heaters 6 or 10 yr ?

Originally posted by OLD1 View Post
    I have been buying / installing State Select water heaters for a few years now. They offer a 10 yr. warranty which is just a replacement anode rod .That is $100 extra. I have never sold one to a customer . How many of you out there sell them to customers that want a 10 yr. warranty?
    Does it really extend the life of the heater 4 more yrs? Or are they just living on borrowed time after 6yrs. anyhow?
    As I understand it, all water heater warranties are pro-rated by the manufacturer. So if it's a 10 year warranty and the heater craps out 9 years after purchase/install, they only get 10% of the cost of a new heater (cost of the new tank).

That said, I usually only install Bradford-White heaters, but I'll put a State in occasionally. I don't even offer extended warranties to the customers, but I've been told that I should....

Comment

Originally posted by Swade Plumbing View Post
      As I understand it, all water heater warranties are pro-rated by the manufacturer. So if it's a 10 year warranty and the heater craps out 9 years after purchase/install, they only get 10% of the cost of a new heater (cost of the new tank).