X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Threading my own black iron nipples

I'm a gas line contractor, and have alot of off time in the summer. I'm thinking I can give my employees a few extra days work in the summer by threading all my own nipples, and easily cover their payroll with the money I'll save. Does anyone do this, how have your results been? What do I need to do it? Thanks.

Anthony,

You can make nipples with any of the threading machines. The minimum length will vary depending upon what machine you are using. You can calculate the minimum length as follows.

Two times the length of the thread (chaser width) plus the length of the jaw (or jaw insert, depending on machine) plus the gap between the front of the jaw and the rear of the chaser with the carriage pushed near its stop. Here's a bad diagram...

|--Thread--||---Jaw---||-Gap-||--Chaser--|

Do not attempt to make the nipple so short as to run the carriage into its stop during threading!

If you need shorter nipples than the above, you can purchase a nipple chuck for most threading machines. This will allow you to make close nipples easily.

Hope this helps,
    Steve
    Steve
    www.MorrisGarage.com

Comment

Awesome, thanks for the reply, does anyone know how the nipple chucks work, how long they take to use, and, just how they work I guess is what I'm wondering. Thanks.

Comment

Originally posted by pugetsoundgaspiping:
        Awesome, thanks for the reply, does anyone know how the nipple chucks work, how long they take to use, and, just how they work I guess is what I'm wondering. Thanks.
        You cut your threads on one end of the nipple blank, and then chuck the nipple chuck into the threading machine. The nipple blank with one end threaded is then threaded into the nipple chuck. Then simply thread the other end. The nipple can then be removed from the nipple chuck using the supplied tool.