X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Moen Diverter with Posi Temp Cartridge

I have been using Moen diverters for over 25 years. I just recently installed a sweat x posi temp in a customers house. Posi Temp pulled prior to soldering. I have installed thousands. He called me up a few days later telling me it was dripping. I figured the norm, debris from solder ect..... I called Moen and had a cartridge sent to me. I replaced with new cartridge and the same results. I called a good friend of mine who is a plumber and he said once in a life time the bore of diverter will be off and cannot be fixed. I called Moen for some advice and their thoughts and maybe even a local rep in area for further help. They stated no such person available. We talked more trying to figure out problem. They stated all diverters are pressure tested at factory and is impossible. They decided to send me 5 cartridges and 2 new diverters. I decided to cut new diverter out and replace with a new one. The unfortunate part was that there was tile on front of tub wall and behind tub wall. The entire bathroom redone but nothing I could not repair. I replaced diverter and I could not believe it, it was dripping again. It is a tub and shower diverter , there is a hand held shower at shower head. I checked water pressure at hose bib with a pressure of 80 even though water pressure in the past has never been an issue but am brain storming everything. Water Heater has an expansion tank. Is water in hose in shower head back siphoning? I am at my witts end on this one and have no logical explanation. His second bathroom has an old chateau diverter with no drips. Nothing else in house is dripping. I would appreciate and advice or thoughts on what the problem could be. I know I cannot be the only person to experience this, or could I ? Moen cannot explain and nor can I . Please help. Thanks
    The Plumber/Firefighter

Re: Moen Diverter with Posi Temp Cartridge