residential fire sprinkler

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• residential fire sprinkler

If you were installing a sprinkler system in your own home, given the available material. what would you choose?
    I've been kicking the idea around for a few years now, and I go back and forth on it.
    pex would obviously be the easiest, but I don't really want to use it in my home.
    CPVC seems nice and easy to install. and making the runs go in would be cake.
    Steel pipe Seems the most durable, but it's also the most expensive and the most difficult to install in a retrofit scenario.

Figuring on a preblended glycol mix protected by an RPZ in my mechanical closet before it stubs up into the attic.
    No, it's not rocket science, it's plumbing and unlike rocket science it requires a license.

Re: residential fire sprinkler

Go to Uponors web site.
    sigpic

Comment

the system of the future that would be my choice is a combination fire sprinkler and potable system. all the heads are piped in a loop with the domestic fixtures using pex or cpvc.

this allows for the plumber to do the install and because it's all potable water, there's no stagnant water sitting in the system. plus there's no real shut down of the system, without affecting the rest of your domestic fixtures. basically it prevents a person from shutting off the sprinklers unless doing maintenance.

rick.
      phoebe it is

Comment

my problem with the combination systems is that i'm wanting to install the heads in the ceiling of my ranch home. So I need to either build a dry system, which would be a pita for my level of know how. or I need an antifreeze in the line. If I went with in wall heads I'd have a lot of sheetrock repair to do, which I despise.
        No, it's not rocket science, it's plumbing and unlike rocket science it requires a license.

Comment