PVC to copper joint

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PVC to copper joint

Guys, here's my dilema. I've been working for xyz company for 3 months. I'm a licensed commercial journeyman since '96 and have somewhat of a diverse background. I;ve plumbed hundreds of houses, service calls, institutions(jails), installed several decent sized hydronic systems,etc. This last week on a new grocery store w/ 3" water service I used a 3" copper male
    adapter mated to a female pvc adapter about 6 ' outside the building foundation. This is so wrong I can't begin to tell you. Several places in the code it prohibits pvc female fittings unless joined by pvc male fittings. We pressure tested to 70lbs for three days and it held . I voiced my opinion and it fell on deaf ears. "WE've had problems w/ the pvc male adapters breaking off" they said. How long before the pc fip splits?
    And how would you make the connection? In the past , I've used a sch 80 nipple w/ one side of the threads cut off and then glued a regular coupling to the smooth part of the nipple. That would be stronger than a mip.

Your correct, the best way I know of to join the two in that situation is a copper female adaptor and screw a pvc sch 80 nipple into it, cut off the other threads and glue a pressure pvc coupling on the other side or in a tight situation a telescopic coupling might help. The repair you made may or may not last, depends on how hard you cranked down into the pvc female adaptor, and how you supported the repair underground to prevent movement. Sounds like company xyz wanted you to use what was on the truck because what was done, and what you know you should have done has no labor difference. Sounds to me like if your opinion doesn't count at company xyz and it's your install maybe it's easier to work for company abc who respects the voice of there installers.
    christopher

Comment