X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• power take off/ pto

Stubbled across a 93 dodge 3500 one tin dually 4x4 cube truck today with a twelve foot aluminum box 8‘ talk with another 2‘ above cab skylight. ect oversized 350 liter tank and 315000km on a twlve valve cummins comes with extra transmission which is definetly the weekest link on those old dodges anyways ptuce is negotiable and is almost exactly what iv wanted for sometime now. anyways use to be a duct cleaning truck and has a pto for the old vacuam syatem just wondering if any of you guys have a pti and what you use them for i imagine you could use it for a jetter but since i have no experience with eithe i thought id ask my wise fellow tradesman what use it may serve for plumbing thanks sean

Re: power take off/ pto

Sorry for the spelling got a lonar phone and the touch screen is horrible.

Comment

Your thinking of buying a 20 yr old vehicle? I think your nuts. JMO Nothing personal.

Comment

In out area of the country most PTO on trucks are used for running hydraulic pumps for hoists or winches or similar, (usually just a bolt on to the transmission a control line to kick it in and out of gear), (many have gone to the under hood mounted pump that woks off a AC clutch, lower cost and easer to move to different trucks then trading),

I am sure one could set it so it would run a Jettier pump if one so desired, I I would think one would need a step up gear box to make it work the way one wanted, (on the old truck the PTO is very slow RPM, (that may be changeable depending on the PTO box), on my sons one ton, he runs a Hydraulic pump not sure of it RPM, many are a self contained pump in side of a reservoir box, but I think are mostly low RPM (at lest compared to a 3600 rpm gas engine),